Pregnancy Peektures

I was saying that I needed to write a post on getting the belly pictures up so here it is.

Now the first thing that went through my head when I was thinking about writing this was – you obviously can’t get the pictures done until you’re just about ready to explode with baby in your belleh right. Like what’s the point of taking a picture of a flat belly (I did that in the previous post. Oops.)

So when exactly is the best time to take baby photos? What do I need to look out for? And more importantly – SO MANY IDEAS, TOO LITTLE TIME.

And when you search for stuff on that beautiful resource called the internet, you’ll be surprised at the amount of INFORMATION there is on Maternity Photography. Therefore, like every good journalling and OCD blogger, I’ve taken the responsibility onto myself to read a huge bunch of articles through for journalistic and documentation purposes. And also my own knowledge and your benefit.

Here’re just some highlights and gems from some about pregnancy photography:

1) Location Location Location

Click for link

“Keep in mind that an outdoor location for a maternity photoshoot has its own set of potential issues. Mainly, you have to deal with the public staring at your pregnant client.”

“Be prepared for this by allotting more time for pauses. “

You’re going to want mummy to be comfortable because some people are going to be nervous about exposing a part of their body.

Not me though. I’m gonna flash my fat tummy every chance I get. When else can I be fat but beautiful right?

Click for Link

 

2) Show me that Tummy

Click for Link

“You want your belly to be big and beautiful, but you don’t want it to be so large that posing and holding different positions for any length of time becomes taxing. Professional photographer Mariah Milan Dagupion suggests taking photos right around 30 weeks. That’s when your belly gets really round, she says, but it’s not too heavy yet.”

Again, no point taking too many photos of flat belly. My flat belly can’t even compare to that inside magazines (albeit photoshopped), so no point to “celebrate” my non-existent skinniness save for the necessity of having a ‘before’ picture. The control if you will.

So like I was saying, get big, but not too big. Most important is you want to show the new life growing in you. There are photos around of baby’s feet poking through the thin layer of skin stretched over your belly and it’s creepy. But beautiful at the same time.

 

3) When in doubt, log the whole shebang

Click for Link

I’m kinda sorta going for this. I might not be mad like this woman who posted her weekly photos for the whole internet to see but I really have to work out the foot positions and the backdrop and whether I’m going to be wearing some mad stretchy outfit for each photo for the whole 9 months or not. There are also some really awesome photologs out there that have pretty amazing ideas involved.

I don’t need to be TOO outstanding, but I think I’m going to be the “fattest” I’m ever going to be this once in my life unless I have a #2, so might as well do whatever should be done this once in my life.

Speaking of which, what I’ve noticed with my friends and through conversations is – that there’s never this much hype when #2 rolls around but that’s another blog post for another day.

Anyway, I’m just going to need to sit and rack my brains a bit for a cool idea.. Once I’ve got that down, maybe I’ll do daily photo updates instead.

KIDDING.

I prefer to keep some of my nekkid body photos to myself and my husband thanks. The very most I’ll do is like one per month or something, so rest assured you won’t be bombarded.

 

4) But do it in style

Click for Link

I especially love the ones that show the progress of the belly growing. This pinterest page is going to be my total go-to page from now on! so naaiiiseee!!

but more than that is to make your shoot your own. Do it in a style that’s never been done before. I am going to want something really special for bubba when he or she comes out. So I better start to get cracking on idea generation

 

5) Inspiration comes from EVERYWHERE

Click for Link

I really love pinterest. I don’t personally use it, but I love spying into what other people are pinning and trending because it saves me a whole tonne of work having to trawl internet websites all over the place to search for rippable photos

*side note – I’m obviously not doing a good job being efficient considering the number of sites I’m linking in this blog post haha

 

6) And if all else fails, just DON’T do this:

Click for Link

Click for Link

I actually kinda like this one…

 


 

At the end of the day, after all that trouble to get a photoshoot done, just do what makes you feel comfortable, and don’t get suckered in by the studio trying to make you buy photos that you don’t think you could live with having to look at for the rest of your life.

Remember, these are the first ever photos taken of your precious mini-you, so they better be good ones!

Have fun posing kiddies!
Jess

Leave a Reply

