Body Flip-flops

OH MY WORD. WHAT WAS I THINKING.

I had a McSpicy for lunch. Right after saying that oil makes me feel all funny inside, and not in the good way.

I actually didn’t have any problem eating the damned burger. It’s after eating the thing that my tummy started to go, WHAT DA HELL DID YOU JUST FEED ME.

hellno

I have been drinking warm water since after an early lunch (around 11am) in a bid to get a jump on the swirling yucky feeling in my tummy.

I couldn’t even nibble at plain salted crackers nor drink isotonics because the thought of it made me feel bloated. Worse still is the smell in the kitchen has turned from a greasy, oily thing into a swirling mass of suffocating I-have-no-idea-what-it-is-but-it-makes-me-wanna-hurl noxiousness. I’m quite certainly at my wits end on what I can do to calm my tummy down.

I’m not really in the mood for my crystallized ginger chewies today because of the spice and tang I get from it so I really had to hunt around the house for something to nibble on and keep the bile down.

That’s when I remembered that I have this berry and fruit mix thing.

Yes I arranged the berries and dried mango into a smiley face :)

Yes I arranged the berries and dried mango into a smiley face 🙂

Doesn’t that look so fresh and yummy!

It’s got dried apricots and dried mangoes, cranberries and sultanas. That’s pretty much it. It’s a LOVELY mix of sugar and fiber and IT DOESN’T MAKE ME FEEL SICK.

I was in a bit of a mad health craze a month ago  because I found such a wonderful little shop that sold wholly home-made berries and nuts! So I went to do a little research on what it was about to eat only nuts and stuff as snacks as a health option and stumbled across the “Caveman’s Diet“. You basically don’t eat very much processed food, and just go on nuts and berries and meat on fire, go around beating men on their heads and dragging them to do chores. Oo-ga-Cha-ka, Oo-ga-Cha-ka, that kind of thing.

Ok, not really.

But it IS really healthy and it does help you to stay trim because you’re eating stuff with no additives and other new-aged crap in it. Granted that my mangoes are dried and sweetened and generally the majority of the nut choices are very lightly salted, you’re not entirely getting them as if they were picked off the ground. But it’s pretty damned close.

So this little place down on the basement of City Square mall is called: Pat’s Oven.

DISCLAIMER: I am NOT getting paid to advertise for Pat’s Oven, but I really wouldn’t mind being a spokesperson of sorts. SO if you took the time to go and try Pat’s nuts and berries and you LOVED it. Please do tell them that you heard about them from me 😀

pat'soven

Now isn’t that a GLORIOUS website. Even the nuts on the front page are making me hungry.

I will have to go down to their outlet to really stock up on this stuff because it seems to be the only thing that’s currently keeping my tummy happy.

The last time I was there, I bought a bag of wasabi peas for the husband, as well as a 100g of mixed nuts (Macadamias and walnuts mixed with raisin, sultanas and cranberries) for myself. There are also the other varieties of nuts and seeds – cashews, pistachios, almonds etc.. as well as other fruity mixes like freeze-dried strawberries and blueberries and figs.

They’ve got a product list here if you’re keen to see what they’ve got in stock.

Even more wonderful about this boutique business is that they are HOMEGROWN. They ALSO hand-make, marinate and oven-roast their own nuts so you know you are getting good quality for what you’re paying for.

The price ain’t cheap if you’ve clicked into the product list, but I can tell you that for a healthy and light snack, sometimes it’s an indulgence worth putting your dollars into. Much better than putting the same amount into Pringles and Lays anyway 😛

I am contemplating holding off publishing this post so I can go down and take a picture of the mad amount of nuts and combination choices that you can get from the kiosk and show you what they’re really about. But why deprive all of you from going down and being wow-ed yourself.

The different outlets are:

  • Parkway Parade B1-83N
  • Vivocity L2-133
  • Citysquare mall B1-K7 (this is the one I go to!)

And Pat’s Oven is open from 10 am – 10 pm.

It’s kinda like a candy stand styled thing where you see little compartments with a particular flavour and you tell the Aunty behind the counter how much weightage of a particular type of berry or nut you want. The Aunty will seal the bag up for you or ask you if you want a ziplock option, then she’ll quickly and efficiently hot-seal the pack for you so you can bring it home to enjoy.

Like this, but Nuts and Berries.

Like this, but no fudge. Just Nuts and Berries.

I like to buy multiples of 100g packs because I need them in manageable helpings. Once I pop a pack open, I can’t seem to stop eating them. :/ This reminds me why I didn’t think about eating these until now – apparently I’d hidden them away too well because if not they’d be finished already :X

On their website they say that they also cater for parties and stuff. How cool is that. Healthy and innovative snacky treats for people! I would totally be happy with presents like these that I could actually use (eat) if I got a bag of nuts and berries at an event. Hell, I’m so stoked by my rediscovery of my pot of dried mango and berry mix that I might actually consider using these guys for my Man Yue at the rate they seem to be facilitating my first trimester.

Do go give them a try if you’ve got one in your vicinity and remember to tell them who you heard about them from. If I do get spokeswoman-ship, I can foresee myself going through a barrel of this stuff, not just because it’s yummy and healthy, but because it’s in the name of product research for the benefit of my readers also of course.

Gimme Dat Sponsorship,
Jess

Update:

Here are the picks of the amazing selection!

IMG_7781 IMG_7780

Leave a Reply

