a truly NATURAL birth.

Weight: 58.5kg
Feeling: Slightly better and a fair bit more hearty. I think it’s the morning stretching taking effect.

So I was talking to my hypnobirthing buddy the other day,. No I’ve not started attending, I’m actually referring to the conductor of the course who is my buddy sort of. We’re actually ex-colleagues and friendships transcend all time and space so here we are almost 5 years later, talking about how she’s going to help walk my husband and I through an entirely natural birth.

So what exactly does it mean to have a truly NATURAL birth anyway? Wikipedia, our most trusted-ever internet resource says on this site:

Natural childbirth is a philosophy of childbirth that is based on the belief that women who are adequately prepared are innately able to give birth without routine medical interventions.

Yeah, okay. That sounds doable. But WAIT! There’s more!

A woman’s definition of ‘natural’ may range from no intervention at all to birth which includes any intervention deemed appropriate. 

Okay, now that needs a little more delving into.

Apparently the purists say that a natural birth means absolutely ZERO medical intervention at all. This could mean all or some of the following (besides supplements and pills and the like of course):

  • no induction to the birth, meaning to let the baby arrive on its own naturally, even if you’re up to 42 weeks and the baby refuses to come out.
  • no assistance during birth – including forceps and vacuum to assist baby to come out
  • definitely no epidural or painkillers of any sort
  • no caesarian unless absolutely, ABSOLUTELY last resort

What I got our of our conversation is that there are tonnes of ways to get around medical intervention. From “old wives tales” and other natural remedies like chili and sex to induce labour and propping your legs up like in a candlestick to get the baby to turn rather than having to resort to a caesarian if baby is in breech.

I’ve heard that there are some doulas (or rather midwives) who’ve actually successfully helped a mummy to deliver a baby in breach anyway so what’s there to worry about right!

Well there is also the other side of the story. There’s obviously the issue with painkillers like the epidural so that you can deal with the pains of childbirth..

Yeah you don’t need to see a gif about childbirth. just google it. I swear you will NEVER look at childbirth the same way again. Here I am looking at the gifs that pop up and going…. NOPE. HELL NO. NOPE NOPE NOPE.

But there’s also the issue of helping the baby if the baby is in trouble. like the umbilical could be caught around baby’s neck/body and baby is struggling, or baby just doesn’t want to come out through the vagina and mummy’s blood pressure is dropping and all that. (Again, go and watch that Discover Home & Health show – Deliver Me, you’ll get an idea of what can actually go wrong during labour.)

I was talking to one of the now growing numbers of people who know that I’m pregnant and she was telling me that as much as you want a natural birth, sometimes you really just can’t help it.

If we’re going to talk about costs there, I’d like to highlight that in this post I highlighted that some hotels charge extra for assistive delivery and I was like… so they’re going to be all “Yeah you need to forceps/vacuum. That’ll be another $500 please, thank you!” What a way to rip you off, hospitals of Singapore!

And the unfortunately logical answer which made me sulk because it was true was – when they take those forceps out, it’s going to be because baby is in trouble and needs it. And you are going to be GLAD to pay that $500 or however much the amount is going to be because you want baby to be okay.

okaay

Well I’m still going to give it my best shot. And how we’re going to do that, besides surrounding ourselves with people are all up for natural birth and its remedies – like my hypnobirthing buddy – is look for a doctor who is absolutely supportive of everything.


The ones that she’s shared with me are:

Professor Chong Yap Seng @ NUH

Review here (Singapore Baby Forum) and here (mummysg).

Good for Water-birthing and Natural Birth.

Address: 5 Lower Kent Ridge Road Singapore 119074
Tel: 67795555
Location: Clementi
Hospital: National University Hospital (NUH)


Dr Paul Tseng

Review here (mummysg) and here (Singapore baby forum) and here (Singapore Motherhood Forum)

TLC Gynaecology Practice
339 Thomson Road #03-02
Thomson Medical Centre
Singapore 307677
Tel: 6254 2878
Fax: 6254 6233
Operating Hours:
Mondays to Fridays – 9.00am to 12.30pm, 2.00pm to 4:30pm
Saturdays – 8.30am to 12.30pm
Closed on Sundays & Public Holidays
Dr Paul Tseng
MBBS (Singapore) 1981
MMED – O&G (Singapore) 1987
FAMS (Singapore) 2004

HOHOHO Comparison between Dr Paul Tseng and Prof Chong here

 


Dr Lai Fon Min 

So err.. reviews aren’t that great. Read at own peril here – a blog entirely dedicated to slamming him. And a short blurb here (sassymamasg).

Only doctor who does home-birthing. Like a “Mobile Doctor” of sorts.

Address: A Company for Women, 1, Orchard Boulevard #03-05/06, Singapore 248649
Tel: (+65) 6333 6181

A bit more comparisons between the 3 here (Singapore Expats)


My buddy tells me that even doctors are not fully pro Natural Birth. Like towards the end of the pregnancy, they will somehow tell you to induce and/or try to get you to take an epidural or use some sort of assistive method even during labour itself.

Like they’re going to take you at your most vulnerable stage, when you’ve got your legs open wide, contractions busting you up from the inside out and ask you if you want to take the easy way out.

The nerve.

shocked

My buddy also tells me that when we take up the hypnobirthing course, she’ll try her best to steal the hubs to be the midwife so that he’ll be able to help me through the labour and birth process itself. And this is if we absolutely disagree with a doula.

We don’t absolutely disagree but we think that this kind of thing – in its intimacy, should remain a small affair. I mean I don’t want my whole family staring my privates down waiting for a head to crown. But who knows, I may want a doula in the later part of the pregnancy.

Just for knowledge here, she says that a lot of first time fathers freak out in the labour room and they are the ones who sometimes needs a bit of support and that’s where the doula comes in too. That as well as the fact that sometimes husbands are the ones that go “JUST GIVE HER THE DRUGS ALREADY!!” because they can’t take it either. That they can’t take it that their beautiful wife is suffering in pain, hopefully, and not because they can’t take the stress of the screaming wife hahaha.

John has steadfastly agreed that he will deny me any non-natural methods of birth assistance when the time comes. Thanks… I think…

goodidea

In any case, we have our own list of referred gynaes that we’re going to try out. I’m thinking that if there are truly only 3 doctors who are pro natural birth, then best not to gamble with the crowd eh? The other gynaes I’m going to see are already maxed out as it is…

Maybe I should have been selfish and NOT disclosed the 3 doctors above ah? HAHAHA that would be mean :X

Well, more discussions and updates on this to come. Especially when we’ve had our first visit this weekend! Wish us luck for short queues and quick consult!

Anticipation…
Jess

6 thoughts on “a truly NATURAL birth.

  1. Hello sorry for the random message – i am looking at getting Dr Lai to be my gyane for my second child. I delivered via emergency Csec the first time and would like to try for a VBAC. I couldnt click on the link that posted some negative reviews of him – seems like it has expired. Would appreciate if you could share your thoughts on him please?

    Grateful for your reply.

  2. Can I get your email? it’s so hard to find women in Singapore who are so sure about what they want for their birth. And actually do the research 🙂

Leave a Reply

