Hypnobirthing Lesson 2 and thoughts

Weight: 59.4kg (After lunch weight)
Feeling: Like I’m getting there..


week14Week 14: COME ON BABY BELLY!


So this week has been EVENTFUL. Or rather thought provoking. Quite a number of things happened this week so it’s been a bit difficult to put my thoughts into order so that it will come out sounding comprehensible on a blog post.

This week’s format will be a little different. I’ll talk about the hypnobirthing lesson first (with as little commentary as possible) then go into dissection a little later.


Hypnobirthing – Class 2

So in class yesterday, it was more about techniques – we learnt a fair bit about breathing and how to go about making sure that you breathe in time to the surges (or contractions) during labour. And also about how it was important to keep yourself in a calm state.

mowgli-hypnotise-o

Fear is bad (obviously), but especially in pregnancy, and during birthing, because of all the fear of pain, the whole body can kinda tense up. And when the body is tense, it becomes more and more difficult to do what it needs to do during birth so that the baby can come out.

Again, this is all HOLLYWOOD’S fault.

labour

It’s actually quite interesting! About how the muscles of your under-belly just loosening up and making labour that much simpler to go through. Besides just telling yourself to relax, there are breathing techniques to get everything in the right frame for giving birth.

Slow breathing – for relaxing, Surge Breathing – for when you feel like your tummy is going to cave in on itself and you’re going to die, and Birth Breathing – for when baby is JUST about to come out, as in literally when you feel like baby is gonna slide out your hoohoo.

It’s really quite intriguing how useful the breathing techniques are. Slow breathing can be used for insomniacs (like me!) , Surge breathing can really just help you to put aside all heart palpitations and stressful situations, and Birth Breathing (OMG, this is so exciting) can actually help you “birth” a difficult POOP.

YEAH BOWEL MOVEMENTS!

take a dump

Lol. The husband had quite a fun time practicing this one.  You’ll be interested to know that during this exercise he was softly grunting a little. I was quite worried he might actually take a dump while we were doing the exercise. I had to actually crack an eyelid one or two times to make sure that he was ok..

One thing I actually forgot to mention in last week’s class was that, hypnobirthing, although meant to help you relax, may not necessarily make everything pain-FREE. it’s meant to shorten labour time for sure and help in pain reduction, but may not absolutely get rid of all sensation just because you’re in hypnosis.

And this became pretty evident when we watch birthing videos every week. Yeah. You heard me. EVERY WEEK. it’s a whole new episode of bleeding eyeballs.

MY EYES

yeaaahhh….

Well besides that, we also learn about some light massage techniques to stimulate endorphin flow – highly useful for when you’re freaking out during labour itself. It’s  not QUITE like your typical shoulder and neck massage. It’s really exactly what the name is – LIGHT massage. Like feathers going up and down your back.

I don’t know how to really describe it? I thought it would be ticklish, and we’re supposed to be getting tingly and goose-pimply, which I don’t really enjoy.

eww_shivers

But when I got to “guinea pig” the “massage”, it was surprisingly  nice – in a surprisingly caressing and slightly erotic way. The stimulation of endorphins right. Go figure :/

I think I may possibly be asking the hubs to help out with all sorts of massage in the near future anyway. So i’m happy to add another one that’s pleasurable to the repertoire 😉 *winky winky*

Moving on, we also emphasized on the importance of the fact that baby can TOTALLY hear you while he/she is in there. We did an exercise of reading out some affirmations, promises and conversations with the unborn. Stuff like “Dear little baby, I would like you to know….” Followed by a whole bunch of stuff about what I will do for you while you’re inside me and until the day that you are born to me.

After the ladies  read their part, the husbands read their part. Something similar – I promise to teach / explore / be patient when….

CRY FEST I TELL YOU. Voice shaking and trembling and cannot finish the words can.

gonna cry

After all that, we did a final relaxation exercise and broke up for the week with an assignment to write down our thoughts about birthing and beliefs about the different areas of the pregnancy, all the way through to parenting.

Looks like a deep soul-searching week for us then!


Further detail on the delivery…

RIGHT. that was pretty long wasn’t it! It’s a good thing I decided to separate everything up. So, the personal thoughts and feelings portion about the class and all that.

Before going in to the class, we were actually really thinking about the money that we put down. I have been trying to finalise the whole birth thing as soon as possible so that I don’t have to worry about where I’m going, who’s going to be the overseeing OBGyn for the birth and whether or not we truly need a Doula for the whole event or not.

We’ve actually put money down for my doula friend to be there for me, but today’s session we asked some questions further to the necessity of the service. Also because we found out that Mount Alvernia has retracted allowing doulas from being present during delivery.

Not sure whether I mentioned this before, but we were under the impression that the doula was meant to help with the actual birthing of the baby and all that, but through this week’s session, we understood what a natural birth REALLY is supposed to be – and that’s apparently an entirely HANDS OFF approach.

Of course without medication and all of that, but to the point where the doctor does NOT assist the baby to come out at all. No grabbing the baby by the head, touching my private parts to “open” up the perineal area for the baby to come out… Just LET the baby come out of the birth canal all by him/herself (unless in distress of course)

peeking

SO. I am kinda half in and half out with this amount of control. But I understand the importance of letting the baby have as much freedom to come out by him/herself as possible. Lots of things to do with this though – finding out which hospitals allow doulas and more importantly, ensuring that my healthcare professional AGREES with what I want for my birthing (I can do this by writing a birth plan)

First thing we did was to find out about what questions to ask the doctor so we can make the right decision for the baby. One of the more important ones was to find out the doctor’s take on when to interceded – like how long is it going to be until he decides to call it a day, let’s do a C sect. Also about how long is he gonna wait before insisting the baby has to come out (baby is okay to stay in there all the way to 40 weeks even if some doctors are being iffy about leaving baby inside the womb that long….

A LOT of things la.

Seriously listening to some of these questions, it is no wonder so little doctors aren’t keen on natural birth at all. They do almost jack-all while the woman is in the process of labouring and they can’t charge more for medicine and “service”.

wastedoctorstime

Anyway, we will have to wait for week 20 scan to ask our doctor about his take. And if he really doesn’t work out, a lot of people (mostly expats) over the mummy’s channel I’m on in facebook have been advising me to look at NUH for a natural birth-friendly hospital.

It’ll be nervous waiting til then, but at least I’m comforted that it’s still possible to wait til the last minute and that there are doctors who will accept you if you swap out close to your estimated birth date.

Wish us Luck!


 Settling into Parenthood

I know I’ve been talking a LOT about how I”m not excited about the pregnancy and the birth yet. And I am still feeling a bit uneasy when people tell me that they are so excited and want to know EVERYTHING about the baby. It’s just purely… I don’t know what it is. Just nervousness? Jitters? Fear of whether I’ll be a good parent or something?

Well we attended a cell group with our Marriage Preparation  Course Facilitators and at the end of the session, some of the members were just praying for peace to come over me and for the Holy Spirit to allow me to be in tune with the baby and getting emotionally prepared.

bepreparedhyenas

To put it more concisely, it was more like God allowing me to feel the joy that comes with having a baby and the life journey that we now have to be on. Not just to worry about what’s to come, but to enjoy the process?

I felt the prickling of tears as I always do when I’m allowed to feel release of all these burdens I carry around with me, even if just for the night. And it truly made me reevaluate where I stand right now in all this. Especially with all the promises and conversations  I had to read out during the birth class on Saturday, I’m really starting to get an idea what kind of frame of mind I truly need to have in order to prepare myself for everything.

In the whole thing, I know that it’s ok to feel fear and worry but it’s also important not to let it get to a state where the baby can feel my unhappy vibrations about it.At the end of the day, there’s only so much I can worry about and prepare myself for right?

I’m just going to take the relaxation time this week to put myself into a good frame of mind and think happy thoughts…

pixiedust2

Still working out the kinks,
Jess

 

 

Leave a Reply

