Growing into a parent

Weight: 67.9kg and onwards and upwards…
Feeling: burdened with LOVE. feeling baby’s weight on my body is…..


week30

Week 30: Bigger and Better and Beautiful 😉


The weekend was hella hectic! SO many things going on.

On Saturday, the hubs and I planned a day out, just the 2 of us – a lunch buffet at a teppanyaki restaurant and then an afternoon swim at the swimming club too cool off. On Sunday, we met up with friends the whole day. IKEA in the morning and a belated Diwali party in the evening.

Now, I really don’t want my blog to become a journalistic one, where I go to some place and give you the low down on the food, feeling, environment, atmosphere and the like (unless of course I’mma gonna get PAID for it 😉 hurhur) but more on what it implied for me and the hubs as parents to be. So, I’m just gonna talk a little bit about that moving forward a little.

Focus yo!

focus!

So anyway, what I found most intriguing about this week’s adventures was how differently I’ve been treated ever since the tummy started showing.

There’s actually quite a big turning point. One day you are protectively cradling your tummy and the next, suddenly people realise you’re pregnant.

It’s probably a girth limit. Once you’ve crossed the limit, you are now OBVIOUSLY PREGNANT. Woohoo!

criticalmass

Well… Maybe not everybody seriously treats me differently, but I do get a lot more concerned glances and caring inquiries asked after me.

OH, how have you been“, “Are you okay sitting over there?”, “Do you need help?” and my favourite: “Please take my seat..

*Sigh* So nice to feel loved and cared for.

you love me

And in the restaurants too. Had one or two wait staff who tried their best to help me get comfortable, they are also generally a bit more attentive to when I need a top up of my water or some serviettes and the like.

I even managed to get some special treatment when I told them that I really don’t like Matcha (green tea) ice cream – it was the only dessert option on the lunch buffet menu, and could they please find me an alternative.

Why can’t every day be this way? If only the treatment continued when I’m not obviously pregnant anymore…

everyday is a good day

Now if you remember a few months ago when I was just accepting the fact that I was pregnant, my attitude was entirely different. I couldn’t wait for people NOT to ask me about what was going on.

I don’t know what it is about it – I mean I know having the belly and all is an invitation to be asked, but I really feel like it’s an invasion of privacy – much akin to being asked how much are you earning, or just haphazardly telling the whole world – Hey I’m in some sort of trouble, please help me. It’s awkward to be asked and it makes other people feel awkward to hear the answer.

I just didn’t want to answer questions about the pregnancy and honestly, having to explain to another person mine and the hubs choices in this pregnancy for giving birth, choosing names, did I have morning sickness and this and that, seriously? I feel the dread and tedious-ness of it all coming back just typing it out…

please just stop

Right, so as I was saying, I feel a lot better about answering questions now! I find it a lot easier to swallow people’s concern and inquisitiveness by volunteering information on my own, rather than letting people interrogate me; better I lead the conversation maybe?

Of course there are still some who overstep the boundaries. Of which, I’ve yet to find a tactical way to decline.. Again, it just really feels very invasive to have someone asking you questions when you’re not in the right frame of mind to be answering them.

But yes, I am getting more used to it. I’m enjoying people sharing with me a bit of their experiences when it came to their own delivery and pregnancy. Especially in the cases where it wasn’t traumatic.

It still makes me feel a little uneasy to hear about special circumstances and emergencies that happen during others’ experiences and I really don’t need to know any more bad or worst case scenarios when I’m trying to keep calm and collected for mine.

don't freak

ANYWAY, moving on from the semantics of having to meet up with people, I’ve also come to the realization that I really need to treasure all these meetups that I have been lucky enough to go to with my friends.

It won’t be much longer before I’m either too big and encumbered to get around, or bringing out baby will just not be worth the hassle to go out.

This is where I really pray and wish for understanding friends who know how difficult it is to get out of the house with a baby in tow. God knows I would be very happy to host people at my humble abode if people offered to come to me instead of me to them.

Hell, working as what I’m working as, I’ve always had to take the lower ground and go to clients’ locations all the time. 3 years of that…. I don’t think it’s too much to ask that people come to me for once in exchange right?

come-here-gif

But honestly, at the rate that the hubs and I are doing things over the weekends and weekday evenings these days, in order for us to have that Saturday “date” day, we had to schedule it in. Not only that, but run errands in between the first and final event just to make sure that everything else runs smoothly.

With a baby, things really are going to change and our schedule is going to be flipped upside down. It will truly start to revolve around the baby and what he needs rather than what we want to do.

We can forget about going out for casual dinners without lugging around a big bag of baby supplies, we can forget concerts and movies and overseas trips, and we sure as hell can forget about attending any adult only functions for a long time. It’s all toy stores and baby-wearing conventions and toddler fairs and exhibitions from here on out…

smell children

Can’t complain I guess. We both have agreed that we want to spend as much time as possible with baby when he’s out anyway. We don’t want to miss a single moment of him growing up. First time he holds his head up, wears a cute jumper thingy, first anything really…

So much to look forward to! Squee!

Anyway in due time the hubs and I will get our lives back if we can figure out how to get help for taking care of baby when we’re not around which is honestly a whole ‘nother can of worms to be thought about on another day.

Okay, I tried to find a cute gif about a can of worms, but sorry. I only got the heeby geebies.. *shudder*

Okay, I tried to find a cute gif about a can of worms, but sorry. I only got the heeby geebies..  Try it out yourself.. *shudder*

Anyway in the meantime, I have to keep focusing on keeping baby well fed and healthy inside me. Only a few more days to the next doc’s visit on Friday!

Hence, the trip to the pool. And while I felt a fair bit relaxed getting in the water and being able to float, word to the weary – DO NOT VISIT A PUBLIC POOL ON WEEKENDS.

Remember what I said about personal space? Yeah. None of that. Too many kids and swimming lessons going on over thurr… Yes granted I’m going to have one of my own, I really do NOT need to have all of them swarming me either thanks.

i'll cut you

*sigh* well, all in fair preparation for when we have our own right?

Hello kiddy parties and baby talk forever!
Jess

Leave a Reply

