Medicine is good for you.

Feeling: Resolute

I wasn’t sure about what I wanted to post about today. Quite a number of things happened in the last week, least of all that the bub was still feeling sickly until the weekend.

But while I’ve written about having to look after a sick baby, I’ve never written about what is like to feed said sick baby medication.

Oh my word. The horror.

And not just for the baby who has to eat the damned stuff. You’d wish it were an easy job but any parent who’s ever been in this position, knows that it’s HELL.

I’m sure there are plenty of ways to make medicine taking easier.. Spoon full of sugar for example….

medicine

But yeah. We can’t quite do that because, well, sugar and kids. Nuh-uh. Not a good mix

It’s tough.

You do what you have to do because you know it is good for your child – even though it sucks and it hurts, and your baby is kicking and screaming and thrashing about to the point of hurting himself, just to get away from that disgusting stuff.

It’s heart-breaking when you have to hold your baby down, make sure that he’s not going to knock the stuff out of the spoon, he’s got to open his mouth AND swallow it down…

So many avenues for things to go wrong.

Baby could hurt himself under restraint, you could hurt baby even, the medicine is going to get everywhere and trust me, in his hair is not as bad as in your cleavage and down your clothes, and that is all nothing in comparison to when you’ve finally got the stuff in his mouth, but he spits it all out.

yucky medicine

We’ve tried the syringe and the spoon and masking the flavour, trying to sneak him food while he’s distracted watching TV… Heck, we’ve alternated a spoonful of dinner with a spoonful of medicine just to see what the best method of getting it in would be.

All I can say is – SIGH.

Somehow they KNOW that it’s coming and the bub has now taken to inspecting every single spoon that comes near his mouth; as if he wasn’t already picky enough as it is with his regular solid meals.

I shall console myself that he is teething therefore not having an appetite. All I can pray for right now is that the tricks he learns when he’s sick do not become habits when he’s much better.

but it's hard

I was reading somewhere that it’s important to stick to routine as much as possible when the bub is all back to full steam. They should know that they get special privileges when they are not feeling well, but all of that does NOT apply under normal circumstances.

Heaven forbid they think they deserve to be fussed over all the time.

To be honest, I actually had a bit of the bub’s medicine.

KIDS, do not try this at home. Please only consume medicine on the advice of a doctor. I was not prescribed my son’s medication, but I figured since I probably had whatever he did, that it was probably going to be okay for me to eat some and heck, I would probably get better if I did.

*AHEM* moving on. His medicine is actually pretty palatable!

1455916923-mary-poppins-scrumptious

In comparison to the horse spit we probably had when we were much younger, there’s probably some sugar or essence in there to make those medicines taste a little better.

Unfortunately, like I said, THEY KNOW.

They know it’s an everyday edible that’s coming towards them.

They know that it tastes horrible.

But for their sake and their health, we parents need to do what we need to do to make sure that they have the extra “power” to fight the bacteria and the germs.

Moving on to talk about the whole metaphorical bit of this eating medicine and stuff. There comes a point of time when you know that your baby has to resolve himself to eat his own medicine.  That he has to come to terms that that is something that he just needs to do.

I won’t be around forever to force the bub to eat medicines, he will not always have me to teach him what is right and wrong and what should be done when there is a problem in his life.

It’s my job as his parent to show him all these sins, and pitfalls, all these temptations and warnings that will come at him when he is older so that he will be able to recognize the right course of action in each situation. Or do what he needs to do and learn how to get out of it on his own.

I_didn't_do_it_I_swear

When it comes to making a wrong investment, befriending bad people, or even hurting someone’s feelings, there’s a bitter medicine to take, to your wallet, to your psyche, to your heart. But as painful as that medicine may be, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger and hopefully our kids will be stronger for it when they learn their lessons.

Sad to think that us as adults are still learning such lessons too, but that’s what life is. It’s a constant struggle and learning experience that we have to learn how to navigate and take control of.

I may not be perfect in my ways. I am definitely full of faults, and I most certainly continue to make mistakes. I am caustic and bitchy and have a severe lack of patience. At times, I wonder how I’m going to be able to set a good example for my baby.

But that’s parenthood too. It’s trying to be a better person and to do right by your baby and make sure that you give them something to look up to.

It’ll be hard to see what comes out of our actions now, but if we just remember that this little person will one day grow up to reflect his parent’s teachings, well I think that’s just enough motivation as anything to make sure that you’re on your toes as a parent.

role-model

And with that, I hope that my bub sees that that I am human. But more importantly, despite all my faults, I do my best to make sure that I try to rectify a situation and become a better person through all the experiences that I go through.

Being a good example will never be easy, but for the sake of our children, we sure as hell had better try!

Be a shining light,
Jess

Leave a Reply

