For the future of a nation…

Feeling: Proud and Excited for more

This is the week that will go down in history as the Olympic Games that birthed a national movement.

It is not only the first time a Singaporean-born male has won Gold, but the message behind our new hero rings loud and true. (Se story about Yip Pin Xiu.)

I didn’t want to write about him, but the hype that surrounds the whole circumstance cannot be ignored. It’s so poignant, this moment in time, that not to give it a bit of credit would be a disservice.

say what you wanna say

I’m not a fawning die-hard, and neither do I want to be nonchalant towards the event, so this post is just my little way of paying my homage the best way I know how – to take and apply lessons I see over this weekend into my own life and hopefully how I bring up my bub.

And with that, I am talking about all the media frenzy that has been surrounding how our young swimming star.

From the badly written Men’s Health article which has been taken down (read article on article here), to its apology, to Joe’s real feelings on what he hopes his actions have done for our red dot in the wake of his victory.

I’d like to say that I hope that if my bub is ever put in a situation where he’s in the limelight and there are people who are going to hang on to his every word, or if he even has the slightest chance of playing a possible role model for other people, that my kids would be well-composed, respectful and that they will think twice before words even leave their mouths.

Of course, when everybody is speculating and expectant, whatever you’re going to say may possibly be misconstrued. It’s tough to please everybody when you speak from the heart, but let’s just hope that in all things, that we take the politically correct and neutral stand that doesn’t offend people.

i didn't say anything

I will probably swallow my own words when it comes to a more serious subject. Like how it is tough for leaders and people of importance to disclose their personal feelings towards issues of controversy.

It’s a good thing that sound-bites when you’re running a race aren’t considered topics that quite affect others, but even something as trivial as how you feel after you’ve lost a race seems to cause a rise out of some people… Go figure.

I mean, we are brought up to learn how to be gracious even in defeat but face it. Nobody likes to lose. If you don’t feel anything when you lose a competition, then why are you even competing to begin with right?

But moving on… If my bub were ever blessed enough to be given an opportunity to hold a rank like that… I truly pray that he would have gained the wisdom to stand in that position on a merit that isn’t misplaced and that he would lead and advise and share openly, honestly and rightfully.

Better yet, guided by God when it comes to speaking up on certain topics too.

My favourite bit of this whole thing is this:

Schooling added that Singaporeans should not underestimate their ability to do well in sports on the global stage. He also said that he hoped his win will inspire more young sporting talents to aim high and strive to realise their sporting dreams.

It’s something that I’ve constantly thought throughout my life.

Singaporeans are genuinely TALENTED.

We have stars and then some. Let’s not even talk athletes. Let’s talk the music industry, let’s talk technology and science and research! WOW. We are WORLD LEADING.

That so many Singaporeans forget the potential that we hold as humans, it’s sad.

I blame it on our Asian culture to play safe. To save face and to remove all risks from our lives.

Take the higher road. Take the well-travelled path. Do what others have proven will give you the highest likelihood of success.

success for breakfast

Our singers, our actors, and even Joseph Schooling himself have resorted to heading overseas because of the lack of support and resources here to do something that in our eyes seems like a one in a million chance for glory, fame or fortune.

Hell, even James Lye became a banker eventually, sucking Diana Ser down the rabbit hole with him.

But look where he is now.

<Picture for effect>

joschooling

A friend of mine posted something on FB but for some reason I can’t find the post anymore.

Something about 5 things about Joe Schooling that will make you REALLY appreciate what he’s had to do to get where he is. His stature, his age, etc etc.

There is so much more that we can achieve if we just put our minds to it and work hard for what we want, right?

Well, I certainly hope that if it boils down to it, that if my kids have the talent for greatness, that I’ll be able to help them realise their dreams. I hope that I have the money to send them where they need to go to make it.

It’s a matter of nurturing and encouragement and even if it’s something as trivial as getting As for subjects in school or placing in a school or local competition, I really hope that I’ll be able to give them that support that they need.

That I’ll be able to give them the back up they need to do their best even if they fail. And be the hand that helps to pick them up when they fall and remind them that they need to keep trying. And if they want to give up, that it’s alright too.

it's okay

Whatever it is, it’s a life lesson that most people learn the hard way, and even as I’m typing this, I know that all this advice, is easier said than practiced.

But we’ll do our best, and hopefully we’ll come out on top in the end.

Press on!
Jess

Leave a Reply

